Billy Joel Discography

Here is a list of Billy Joel official albums and compilations with links to them.



  • Billy Joel: The Box Set (1980)
  • Greatest Hits – Volume I & Volume II (1985)
  • Starbox (1988)
  • Souvenir: The Ultimate Collection (1989)
  • A Voyage on the River of Dreams (1994)
  • Greatest Hits Volume III (1997)
  • The Complete Hits Collection: 1973-1997 (1997)
  • The Ultimate Collection (2000)
  • The Essential Billy Joel (2001)
  • Piano Man: The Very Best of Billy Joel (2004)
  • My Lives (2005)
  • The Hits (2010)
  • She’s Always a Woman: Love Songs (2010)
  • Billy Joel: The Complete Albums Collection (2011)
  • Opus Collection (2012)
  • She’s Got A Way: Love Songs (2013)

Joel had top 40 hits in the 1970s, 1980s and 1990s, achieving 33Top 40 Hits in the US, all of which he himself wrote. He has been nominated for the Grammy Awards 23 times and is a six-time award winner. He is the only performing artist to have played both Yankee and Shea Stadiums along with Giants Stadium, Madison Square Garden and Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum.

Billy Joel has released thirteen studio albums, five live albums, a total of fifteen compilation albums and ten video albums. The list of albums include Cold Spring Harbor (1971), Piano Man (1973), Streetlife Serenade (1974),Turnstiles (1976), The Stranger (1977), 52nd Street (1978), Glass Houses (1980),The Nylon Curtain (1982), An Innocent Man (1983), The Bridge (1986), Storm Front (1989), River of Dreams (1993) and Fantasies & Delusions (2001). 52nd Street, Glass Houses, Storm Front and River of Dreams finished at No.1 at the Billboards Chart.

His live albums include Songs in the Attic (1981), 2000 years: The Millennium Concert (2000) and Live at Shea Stadium: The Concert (2011). A Compilation of Joel’s songs of all times, The Greatest Hits Volume I and Volume II has sold over 11.5 million copies and if the third most certified album of all time in the US. The Stranger sold 10 million copies and has been ranked as one of the highest selling music albums in the US. Coinciding with the Greatest Hits Album release, Joel released a two volume Video Album which was a compilation of the promotional videos he had recorded from 1977 until then. His ‘Greatest Hits Volume III’ released in 1997 which included ‘To Make You Feel My Love’ and ‘Hey Girl’. Both the songs chartered at Billboards.

Joel’s notable singles as a lead artist include ‘She’s got a way’, ‘Piano Man’, ‘Say Goodbye to Hollywood’, ‘Just the Way You Are’, ‘Only the Good Die Young’, ‘The Stranger’, ‘Big Shot’, ‘Honesty’, ‘Until the Night’,‘She’s always a woman’, ‘Pressure’, ‘Allentown’, ‘You May be Right’, ‘Goodnight Saigon’, ‘Uptown Girl’ and ‘The River of Dreams’. The song ‘Just the Way You Are’, ‘Uptown Girl’, ‘River of Dreams’ and ‘My Life’ finished at No. 3 while ‘It’s still rock and roll to me’, ‘Sometimes a Fantasy’ ‘Tell her about it’ and ‘We didn’t start the fire’ finished at No.1 at the Billboards. In 2001, Joel released ‘Fantasies and Delusions’ which was a collection of classical piano pieces. He often used these pieces as interludes in his live performances. After having taken a break from making self-written song releases, in 2007, he premiered his song ‘Christmas in Fallujah’, sung by Cass Dilon and dedicated the song to the American soldiers in Iraq.

Joel has released a total of music videos and some of the above songs and his live performances have also been recorded as videos. He has released a few promotional singles as well.

In his career covering about four decades, Billy Joel has been considered one of the most proficient of American musicians till date.